Methylmethaqualone

Introduction:

Methylmethaqualone (MMQ) is a potent analogue of methaqualone (MQ), a depressant in the quaalude class. Methaqualone was popular recreationally until it was phased out of medical use in favour of the safer benzodiazepines. Since then supply has declined but recently a number of analogues have been produced.

MMQ is notably more potent than MQ, with little research surrounding its use in humans. Tests in mice indicated an increased tendency towards seizure and equipotency. Human experimentation has confirmed that seizures are possible at high doses.

Some concerns have been raised that its seizure induction suggests may be an AMPA agonist, meaning it would be excitotoxic and have an anti-nootropic effect, but having tried it once before hearing this and noticing no such effects I do not suspect this to be significant, if it is true at all.

Dosage: 12mg vaporised, 20mg sublingual, ~60mg(?) oral

Duration: 30 minutes vaporised, 90 minutes sublingual.

Description: A short active sedative with pleasant effects. Nothing particularly special

Notes:

I initially vaporised to get a feel for the effective dose. I loaded 12mg into the vaporiser. The HCl salt vaporises easily without burning. Constant inhalation is easy but large hits are horrible to inhale. The effects come on quickly and are typical of depressants. I noticed that it is somewhat more mood-lifting than benzodiazepines and has a bit more of a fun quality to it aside from the stardard anxiolytic effects of benzos. When I noticed my nose was bleeding I stopped vaporising immediately. I am not sure of the cause. The total duration can’t be more than 30 minutes.

The second trial was 18mg sublingually. The compound has a peculiar taste – not very bitter but almost sour, with a sting-y sort of taste. The after-taste is similarly odd. The effects come to a peak within around 20 minutes and are as before, pleasant. This peaked at about 20 mins and started to fade after 30. I would say it lasted about 2 hours total but I redosed 22mg after 1.5 hours as I found the original underwhelming. There were no adverse effects from this.

I tried this at a later date orally with no sublingual absorption. I initially dose 15mg, and while it was noticeable, it was very subtle. I added another two 15mg doses over the next hour and a half, but these added little. Fifteen minutes after these I added another 30mg which had a similarly small effect. I stopped at this point. This surprised me from the same batch as before, I wonder if the short duration indicates a fast metabolism and oral absorption is simply not fast enough to keep up with this in low doses. More research required.

Overall I would rate it well, if it is indeed not harmful. It is very pleasant with a duration just long enough to be suitable for a social setting.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Depressants, Quaaludes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

