DOC

Introduction:

2,5-Dimethoxy-4-chloroamphetamine (DOC) is long-lived, potent psychedelic which was discovered by Alexander Shulgin in the late 20th century. It has enjoyed a constant but low level of popularity although its high potency (3 mg dose) has meant it can generally only be handled in blotter form and as a result is sometimes dangerously misrepresented as LSD. As a psychedelic amphetamine it is regarded to be a stimulating psychedelic and is alleged to have an easygoing headspace and moderate visuals.

DOC structure

1-(4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxy-phenyl)propan-2-amine

Although it has been around for a long time, there are few reports of any other ROA than oral, which surprised me given the marathon duration. I suspected that a shorter ROA would make the comeup shorter than the normal 2 hours and might make the total duration more manageable too. There were absolutely no reports of this but considering that vaporising the 2C-x series is very effective, I saw no reason it would not work for the closely related DOx series.

Dose: 1-5mg oral, 0.8-2.4 mg vaporised

Duration: 12-24 hours oral, 10-14 hours vaporised.

Description: A potent stimulating psychedelic with a very long comeup and long overall duration.

Summary

I spent the trip split between cycling and relaxing at home. I had plenty of energy for cycling and good focus without distractions, but never felt pushily energetic while relaxing. Music was certainly enhanced and the synaesthetic CEVs that came with it were wonderful. The trip was not very visual and very easy to handle so I suspect the dose could easily be pushed a little, although it certainly broke a mild +++ at the peak. I can see why it is popular as a party drug and if the duration was shorter I think it would enjoy much more popularity.

Vaporising provided a near-instant comeup, bypassed the stomach, gave excellent intensity control and did not burn. If the dose was well measured I would have every confidence vaporising over 20 minutes max ang gauging the intensity as I vaped to find a comfortable level, with the measured dosage providing a safety net. Unlike with vaporised 2C-xs the plateau was very nice and long which did not leave me with a desire to repeatedly redose. 2C-B has a 20 minute plateau vaped which makes it of little enjoyment as an ROA.

Report

I weighed out 1.2 mg of  DOC and placed it into my bulb vape, heating using a small candle. It quickly melted and began to vaporise without burning. The vapour was easy to inhale, even in “large” hits and the first alerts were present within a couple of minutes. I take a couple of good hits and the second comes with a psychedelic “rush” which takes me off-guard. I instantly wonder if I have overdone it and the nausea which I was suffering before plays on my mind.

I lie down and as the nausea subsides I notice I have slight tracers and music sounds good. I am trembling a little which does not surprise me. After a shower the physical sensations subside a little and I feel comfortable that I am not far above a ++ and would like some more. I finish the contents of the vape without any rushes this time. There is some jaw clenching and the visuals are a bit more distinct. Although the nausea does not return I feel physically uncomfortable again and lie down.

As I do so and close my eyes I begin to have synaesthetic visuals which flow perfectly with the music. They are beautiful but sadly not that intense. The visuals throughout the trip are pretty mild but can be brought out with focus. The time dilation is very significant but I am quite able to deal with it.

After about 45 minutes the uncomfortable sensations are gone and although not hungry I eat a banana. I then decide I’d like to go for a cycle so after a little deliberation about having to encounter other people I kit up and go. As I come to cross the main road I wait for what feels like quite a while. I notice the cars have minor tracers, making them appear like tron light-cycles and chuckle to myself. I feel quite able to cycle as soon as I get going and thoroughly enjoy meandering around a mix of mildly busy roads and totally empty country ones. When I stop of my own accord in country roads I feel incredibly peaceful but I really dislike stopping at traffic lights.

A friend comes round and we play call of duty for a while. I’m not as good as normal but still put up a good fight. After he leaves I have a balloon of nirtous. It is enjoyable as ever but I do not remember much of it and it just leaves me wanting more as always. I force a toasted sandwich which is actually pretty nice and I eat the other half about half an hour later. I appear to have come down considerably as I feel like I could much better handle speaking to others now.

I do another balloon and find the same results as before. I decide they would be better sipped slowly and find I am right as the balloon brings back a bit of intensity without being very shortlived.

I spend the rest of the evening chatting online and browsing the internet. 12 hours after the second dose I can still feel something but it’s not clear what. I certainly feel like I have come down almost completely. This feeling persists for 3 hours until I decide I have to try to sleep. I lie in bed and find myself falling asleep very quickly, even though there is music on and I have no sleep aids. I switch the music off and fall asleep near instantly. I awake the next morning after 9 hours and feel absolutely fine.

Overall a lovely experience which could have been easily enjoyed at a higher intensity. I felt about the same from t+12h onwards so probably could have slept from then. I never felt excessively stimulated but I imagine my body was well exercised from a 20 km cycle.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Amphetamines, Psychedelics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello,
    I was wondering if you would have some pointers for vaping DOC off of a blotter? Or would you suggest splitting the blotter based on dosage and then extracting with some base (baking soda?) and then vaping the solution?
    Thanks in advance.

    • Yes, I think you would need to basify it to make sure you aren’t breaking down the DOC from heat, and therefore losing control of the dosage.

      You should also extract it with a little isopropanol to prevent burning paper compounds causing problems.

Leave a comment